The National green building standard(NGBS) also known as ICC-700 was developed by the NAHB research center and approved by ANSI in 2008.. More than 13 years after Energy Star introduction and more than 15 years after LEED introduction. NAHB’s 800 plus Home builder membership wanted a lower (bar) threshold than LEED certification and more affordable pricing than LEED certification. The green building standard was developed in partnership with ASHRAE, using consensus committees and Non profit individuals with the mainstream production builder in mind. NGBS certification can be applied to single family, multi family, remodeling and land development certification. Periodic NGBS updates have been implemented and introduced over the years.

The new edition of the green building standard will expand and now include commercial portions of multifamily mix use residential buildings. Examples would be retail ground floor space that serves the building and surrounding neighborhood.

NGBS offers four levels of green certification:

Bronze                             222 points

Silver                                406 points

Gold                                  558 points

Emerald                            697 points

NAHB home builders accumulate points by selecting and incorporating features in six different areas: Site and lot development, water conservation, energy conservation, resource conservation, indoor environmental quality, operation, maintenance and homeowner education. Mandatory measures must be fulfilled which no points are awarded. At the lowest level of compliance, the bronze level, the home must be 15% more efficient than a home built to the 2009 International Energy Conservation Code. This compliance requirement increases with each additional level achieved.

The NGBS certification offers individual home builders flexibility to select different green compliance practices, depending on local market conditions and individual home builder strategies. Higher certification levels are achieved by selecting larger numbers of green practices in each one of the above six categories. Additional benefits include expedited local permitting and various types of incentives.

NGBS Energy compliance is nationwide, depending on which climate zone the home is constructed in. There are a few regional differences specially; the NGBS standard includes a termite, radon and rainfall map.

NGBS compliance is achieved by third party independent certified green versifiers. Trained, tested, and accredited by home innovation. Green versifiers focus on three main aspects: healthy homes, lower operating costs, and sustainable lifestyle while,reviewing construction documents,verifying point accumulation, inspecting each home in the rough frame and final stages, physically verifying each and every claimed green practice is properly documented and incorporated into the certified home. Green versifiers then record their results and submit them directly to Home research labs who review all documentation, providing final point verification, and issuing a NGBS green certified certificate.

As of December 2017 a total of 123,000 homes were NGBS certified nationwide. This compares to 92K homes were Energy Star certified in 2016 alone, bringing the total to 1.7 million since 1995. As of July 2017 Over 370,000 LEED homes have been certified.